Jesus Refuses to Ask His Disciple to Fast

Fasting was not part of our experience in the church where I grew up. But when I went to Bible College it became an important part of my life. A number of guys in my dorm fasted together occasionally, and my buddy, John, and I diligently read books on proper fasting (no food at all—only water).

For me, a typical fast was three days, but I fasted five days on two or three occasions. My longest fast was seven days, but I didn’t consider it successful because I thought of girls much of the time.

The purpose of fasting was for discipline and, more importantly, for spiritual growth. Every time I thought of food during a fast, it immediately reminded me of my reason for fasting; then I would meditate on that issue. It usually worked well.

So what’s the deal with fasting? Some believers consider it an essential spiritual practice, while others never fast at all.

Today we hear what Jesus says about it.

Fasting by Jean Fortunet

By Jean Fortunet (Own work) [CC BY 1.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Jesus’ Disciples are Questioned for not Fasting

The last we read, Jesus and his disciples were feasting in the house of Levi the tax collector. The Pharisees were upset that Jesus ignored their table fellowship rules and ate with Jews who did not practice their rules of ritual purity. In light of the feasting, the question of fasting arises. The two stories might not be connected, but they do go well together.

Mark 2 states:

Now John’s disciples and the Pharisees were fasting. Some people came and asked Jesus, “How is it that John’s disciples and the disciples of the Pharisees are fasting, but yours are not?”

The Old Testament mentions certain times that people fasted. Leviticus 16 requires the Israelites to fast (deny themselves) on the annual Day of Atonement. People also fasted during special times of penitence or mourning, such as the Israelites (1 Samuel 7), David (2 Samuel 1), Ahab (1 Kings 21), the sacred assembly (Joel chapters 1 and 2), and the Jews in Esther 4.

Moses is said to have fasted 40 days when receiving the law (Exodus 34), and the people of Judah fasted during a severe drought (Jeremiah 14).

Mark doesn’t identify the people who question Jesus, but Matthew says they are disciples of John the Baptist; they might have been fasting because John was in prison or already executed. We don’t know much about fasting among John’s disciples, though John himself ate a meager diet; but the Pharisees apparently included fasting in their discipline of personal piety. Jesus told a parable in Luke 18 describing a Pharisee this way:

The Pharisee stood by himself and prayed: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other people—robbers, evildoers, adulterers—or even like this tax collector. I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.’

Even if this is only parabolic, Jesus could not make his point if it didn’t accurately reflect some Pharisaical attitudes, and it is consistent with the statement in Matthew 9 that Pharisees ‘fast often’. Apparently it had become a legalistic ritual. We learn that a few decades later descendants of the Pharisees fasted on Mondays and Thursdays.

So how did Jesus react to the question?

Jesus Speaks of Guests and the Groom

Jesus was not intimidated by the question about his disciples:

Jesus answered, “How can the guests of the bridegroom fast while he is with them? They cannot, so long as they have him with them.”

Jesus responds with one of his favorite themes—the wedding feast. Fasting might be appropriate on some occasions, but certainly not at a wedding feast when the groom is right there. This is no time for fasting but for feasting and enjoying his presence with them.

The point is that Jesus is with his disciples just as the wedding guests are with the groom. It is a time for celebration—not deprivation. It is a time to enjoy the relationship and absorb his teaching and example while they can. The question on fasting could be a judgment on the disciples or simply a sincere question, but Jesus was not intimidated by any implied condemnation.

Another point is that Jesus is not just any teacher. It is reasonable for both a teacher and their disciples to fast if they are focused on a past person or event (Moses, the law), or perhaps a future event (liberation from Rome, the coming Messiah). However, Jesus was the person and event. It was all about him as the unique son of God—who he was, what he taught, and what he did to inaugurate the kingdom of God on earth.

How could his disciples fast under these circumstances?

Jesus Didn’t Say His Disciples Should Never Fast

Jesus continues:

“But the time will come when the bridegroom will be taken from them, and on that day they will fast.”

This does not necessarily predict his early execution. The reality is that all teachers eventually die and are no longer available to their followers, but Jesus also knew the record for those suspected as trouble-makers by Rome.

And Jesus says that when that time comes, his disciples will fast—perhaps in mourning, as in the Old Testament. But in light of his resurrection and presence among us I don’t see such fasting as appropriate today.

So Jesus does not instruct the disciples never to fast. In fact he provides guidelines on how they should do so. Matthew 6 reports:

When you fast, do not look somber as the hypocrites do, for they disfigure their faces to show others they are fasting. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full.

But when you fast, put oil on your head and wash your face, so that it will not be obvious to others that you are fasting, but only to your Father, who is unseen; and your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.

Fasting is a personal action for a specific purpose. It should never become a ritualistic show of piety.

Did Jesus’ Followers Fast?

Though the New Testament rarely mentions fasting outside the Gospels, we find fasting in Antioch on a special occasion and then again in the first mission effort.

From Acts 13 and 14:

While they were worshiping the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said, “Set apart for me Barnabas and Saul for the work to which I have called them.” So after they had fasted and prayed, they placed their hands on them and sent them off.

Paul and Barnabas appointed elders for them in each church and, with prayer and fasting, committed them to the Lord, in whom they had put their trust.

Early Church Fathers mention fasting, and the Didache chapter 8 says:

Your fasts should not be with the hypocrites, for they fast on Mondays and Thursdays. You should fast on Wednesdays and Fridays.

It seems that fasting had already become a ritualistic act for some.

What about Us?

Should believers fast today? I didn’t fast after graduating from college, but I believe the answer to this question is up to each individual. Fasting can be beneficial; but I don’t think we should fast legalistically in ritual piety.

Your thoughts?

Next time, we will see what Jesus says about trying to fit the kingdom into our old religious systems.

Articles in this series

Jesus Begins His Work:

The Beginning of the Good News about Jesus the Anointed One
Do Jesus’ Words and Actions Demonstrate Empathy — or Judgment?
Does Jesus Disagree with John the Baptist’s Message of the Coming Judgment of God?
Why Didn’t Jesus Recruit Better Help for His Galilean Work?
Did Jesus Really Heal People?
Do Demons Exist?
Jesus Adds a Shocking Twist to Healing
Jesus Calls a Fifth Follower—and What a Loser!
Jesus Refuses to Ask His Disciple to Fast
Entering the Kingdom Requires Abandoning Old Religious Systems
Jesus Gets into Trouble for Disrespecting the Law
What Do We Learn from ‘Jesus Begins His Work’?

*****

I need your help! Jesus without Baggage is growing and has been ever since it began almost three years ago. However, it is not growing as quickly as it should; I have fewer than 1500 followers. If you enjoy this blog and approve of its message, there are several things you can do.
1. If you do not follow Jesus without Baggage, consider following the blog either by email or by liking the Jesus without Baggage Facebook page. You can do either one, or both, in the column to the right just below the archives box.
2. Share the posts you like with your friends by any method you wish. There are several sharing options below this message that make it easy to do; if you want more options, let me know and I will add them. You can also share directly from the Jesus without Baggage Facebook page.
3. Comment on the posts to let us know how you feel about, respond to, or add to, the content. Comments make the posts more interesting for readers and also help me to know how I can better proceed in the future. I make many decisions based on comments.
If you can do any or all of these things it will make Jesus without Baggage stronger and more effective. Thank you so much for your support; you don’t know how much I appreciate it.
This entry was posted in Jesus, legalism, Pharisees and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Jesus Refuses to Ask His Disciple to Fast

  1. freeoneindeed says:

    “How can the guests of the bridegroom fast while he is withIN them? They cannot, so long as they have him withIN them.”

    Like

  2. Great post, and good question. For myself, I do find fasting helpful occasionally when I’m wrestling with something particularly big or difficult in prayer. But it’s not something I’d currently choose to commit to as a regular discipline. And I’ve never fasted for much longer than 1 day – and if I’m working I do still tend to drink tea/coffee but just not eat.

    For what it’s worth, here’s my own blog post exploring fasting (written for Lent): https://evangelicaliberal.wordpress.com/2014/03/05/on-fasting-and-slowing/

    Like

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      Harvey, your article on fasting was very good.

      I did not address fasting during Lent because I was never part of a liturgical church, and it didn’t occur to me. But I think the same principle applies: if a person fasts during Lent out of obligation or to fulfill a ritual duty, I can’t see how it can be very helpful. But I am sure many fast during Lent with a proper attitude that does make it effective.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Jesus Calls a Fifth Follower—and What a Loser! | Jesus Without Baggage

  4. Pingback: Jesus Adds a Shocking Twist to Healing | Jesus Without Baggage

  5. Pingback: Did Jesus Really Heal People? | Jesus Without Baggage

  6. Pingback: Why Didn’t Jesus Recruit Better Help for His Galilean Work? | Jesus Without Baggage

  7. Pingback: Does Jesus Disagree with John the Baptist’s Message of the Coming Judgment of God? | Jesus Without Baggage

  8. Pingback: Do Jesus’ Words and Actions Demonstrate Empathy — or Judgment? | Jesus Without Baggage

  9. Pingback: The Beginning of the Good News about Jesus the Anointed One | Jesus Without Baggage

  10. sheila0405 says:

    I have Type 2 diabetes and I wrestle with this all the time. I only eat twice a day, anyway, which drives my doctor crazy. Many days I only eat at night. You have to take the whole person into account.

    Like

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      I totally agree Sheila. When I was younger I did not take health considerations into account in fasting. Now I realize that one’s health situation is VERY important. Fasting for those with certain health issues, such as diabetes, is very dangerous.

      Like

  11. fiddlrts says:

    The discussion in the comments is interesting. How exactly one fasts, or not fast, as the case may be isn’t simple, to say the least 🙂

    I experimented with fasting as a teen, as part of a lot of exploration of my faith and a reevaluation of what I believed. That it coincided with my family’s temporary affiliation with a legalistic cult probably didn’t help.

    Now that I am an adult, I haven’t really fasted for purely spiritual reasons. Some of that is probably that I associate it with a legalistic past – and also with quack “medicine.” (Cleanses and all that – the secular version of the spiritual purge/fast.)

    On the other hand, when I am upset, I just don’t feel like eating. I also feel that hunger can sometimes help me focus and think and slow down enough to process complex feelings. Do I always have “healthy” reasons for fasting? Probably not. Do I do it to be “spiritual”? No. One or two days is the longest I will go, just long enough for my equilibrium to return. (And not long enough to cause health issues – that was a great point.)

    Anyway, that is just how I have ended up doing things. I imagine each of us have our own internal dialogue at times like these.

    Like

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      Fiddlrts, I think the comments have been interesting, too–yours among them. People seem to fast in different ways, and I think any way is fine and good so long as it has real meaning and isn’t legalistic.

      Fasting in response to being upset is a new one for me, but I think I see how it would be reflective and focusing.

      Like

  12. Pingback: Entering the Kingdom Requires Abandoning Old Religious Systems | Jesus Without Baggage

  13. Pingback: Jesus Gets into Trouble for Disrespecting the Law | Jesus Without Baggage

  14. Pingback: What Did We Learn from Jesus Begins His Work? | Jesus Without Baggage

Comments are closed.