Are Christians Being Persecuted During the Christmas Season?

Thanksgiving is behind us and the Christmas season is now officially underway. Do you know any Christians who feel persecuted by others during this season?

Here is a simple chart you can share with them to determine whether or not they really are being persecuted. I got it from another blogger and this is the fourth year I have posted it.

I think the analysis still applies.

persecution chart

This entry was posted in persecution and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Are Christians Being Persecuted During the Christmas Season?

  1. Alan C says:

    I remember a conversation with my brother about this time of year a few years back. He’s a very conservative evangelical. He told me some store clerk had wished him Happy Holidays and the way he said “And I said Merry Christmas!” sounded almost vindictive like he scored some great victory in the War on Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Steve says:

    In an Afghanistan-Northern Iraq-Nigeria-North Korea-Saudi Arabia-Somalia-Syria way: Yes.

    In a Huffington Post way (which is what I think you mean): No.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Perry says:

    There are some Christians who I get the feeling really want to feel persecuted…and the Happy Holidays / Merry Christmas thing is their standard. I’ve always been able to say Merry Christmas without getting flogged, and I don’t feel a need to persecute anyone if they don’t say MC to me. Pastor of our church recently said the way things are going in America, he expects to go to jail soon for his faith. I find most people who claim stuff like this are really pushing a political agenda.

    Liked by 2 people

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      Perry, I think you are right that some believers feel persecuted and even seem to want to be persecuted. I think this come from several factors.

      1. White, conservative protestants are losing their privileged position in America, including their domination in a ‘Christian’ nation (like ownership of the winter holiday season)
      2. They perceive push-back against their constant judgment and condemnation of others as persecution
      3. Jesus said we would be persecuted by the ‘world’ so they are playing the fulfillment of what Jesus said (they want to be persecuted)

      I am sure there are other factors as well. Someday I, too, might be jailed for my faith but, if so, it will be ‘Christians’ who put me there.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Steve says:

    Why don’t you unpack 1 & 2 and see where it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Steve says:

    Side question —-> Can anyone point to some examples where a political progressive and a conservative Christian reside in the same body?

    Liked by 1 person

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      Steve, check out Red Letter Christians. Though RLCs are known for their political progressivism, they seem to be more theologically conservative than many other political progressives.

      Like

      • Steve says:

        I haven’t paid attention to the RLC’s in along time, but IIRC they just seem more like a yang to the Religious Right’s yin and politics are very important to their identity.

        I think I asked wrongly – what I meant was I’d like to read some thinking by non-fringe folks whose leftist/progressive politics don’t demand a liberal Christian theology.

        Am I making any sense?

        Liked by 1 person

        • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

          Thanks for the clarification, Steve. I don’t know if there are many people like that. Most conservative hold to a lot of principle that are contrary to progressive religious thought. There are so many kinds of conservatives; what conservative issues would you like to see more of in progressives?

          Like

          • Steve says:

            Hi Tim, it’s interesting to me that you assume I would like to see ‘more conservative issues in progressives’. Anyways, why do you think it’s impossible to separate liberal theology from liberal politics? Is it because “self’ is the overriding driver, i.e. believing that there is no authority outside the self?

            Liked by 1 person

          • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

            Sorry Steve. I should have said: ‘What conservative issues would you envision being held by progressives?’

            I don’t think it is IMPOSSIBLE to separate progressive theology from progressive politics. For example, I am theologically progressive but favor fiscal conservatism as it regards balancing the budget and spending less money (specifically for exorbitant defense spending).

            But I do think that progressive political views generally rise from progressive theology (or philosophy) because of core beliefs in theological and philosophical progressivism–empathy for others, inclusion, and concern for others–while core beliefs in conservatism are tribalism, rejection of those who are not like us, and preservation of a government favorable to our narrow range of acceptance of others. So, as you say, “because “self’ is the overriding driver.”

            I suggest a common ideology of much of conservative thought, including social conservatives, cultural conservatives, fiscal conservatives, defense conservatives, economic conservatives, and so forth is tribalistic and self-serving; which is in contrast to the teaching and example of Jesus as well as the sensitivities of those who might not be Christian.

            Now to your question about “folks whose leftist/progressive politics don’t demand a liberal Christian theology.” Jesus is not the only source of idea’s of inclusion, empathy, and care for others; in fact, there are many political progressives who do not embrace Christianity at all but do honor the importance and significance of others besides themselves. It seems to me that a liberal Christian theology alone is inadequate to explain the entire progressive political movement.

            I am sorry I did not grasp the point of your questions earlier; is this more a long the lines of what you meant? What are your thoughts on the issue?

            Like

  6. Steve says:

    Wow, those conservatives are surely in need of Jesus! But, in a pinch, just following around a couple of Liberals would probably suffice!.

    JK. Thanks for your thoughtful response. I don’t really have any concrete thoughts on this right now. I come here to read your thoughts and ask questions; it helps me learn. I’m of the common and unschooled type. But I’ll think about this for awhile and post some thoughts. Maybe along the lines of substitution of god for government, church for secular humanism, Marxism as a social gospel. Maybe, I dunno. I’ll do some thinking!

    Thanks for the convo!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Charlotte Robertson says:

    I live in the UK. Some ultra political correct institutions refuse to put a Christmas tree in their shop or sell cards with a Christian message. It might offend. Their loss, I’d say.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      We have some believers here who think Christmas trees are an evil pagan innovation that was adopted by the church.

      Like

  8. Charlotte Robertson says:

    And since when is a Christmas tree Christian anyway.?

    Liked by 1 person

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      Charlotte, have you not read the Gospel of St. Christopher chapter 2, starting with verse one: “And lo, when the Christ-child was born Joseph did go into the forests near Bethlehem and did cut down a nice four-foot pine tree. And he did decorated it with ornaments of gold (which the wise men had brought). And he circled it about with electric lights from Bethlehem Mart.”

      Just kidding of course.

      Like

  9. michaeleeast says:

    Tim, I wonder if any of those Christians who feel persecuted threatened the rights of any gays and lesbians during the Christmas season?.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. luckyotter says:

    Reblogged this on Lucky Otters Haven and commented:
    One more from JWB! This is SO true.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Heartafire says:

    It’s sad to read this. As though we don’t have enough division in the world we want to quibble over whether someone said “happy holidays ” rather than Merry Christmas makes me a little nauseated. Have you greeted anyone in the Jewish Community with Happy Chanakuh? No? Gosh I wonder if they felt persecuted ? I suggest we look for positive rather than try to Dig up things to be offended about.

    Liked by 3 people

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      Heartafire, I think it is sad indeed. It seems that some believers want to defend Christianity so much that they focus on very minor, and even misguided, issues like this. I agree with you that we should, “look for positive rather than try to Dig up things to be offended about.”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

