Have You Seen all the Earlier Posts on the Blog? Of Course Not!

I want to thank all my readers for helping my blog to grow so quickly—especially in this past year. When I began in January, 2013 I had no readers—no followers at all. In my first month I had 141 views for the entire month; and in February that dropped to 140 views.

Though not many people saw them, some of the posts from that early period were good posts, in my opinion and in the opinions of the few who did read them.

So, in addition to my regular weekly posts, I will begin re-posting some of these older articles during the middle of upcoming weeks so that the many of you who did not see them will have opportunity to read them if you like. Each re-post will be freshly edited and improved (I have learned a few things about blogging since that time).

The first one should appear next week on Wednesday, October 5th. I hope you like them.

Have a great day! ~Tim

This entry was posted in favorite blogs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Have You Seen all the Earlier Posts on the Blog? Of Course Not!

  1. KIA says:

    Hey there. Thx for keeping on with the blog. Persistence pays off

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Have You Seen all the Earlier Posts on the Blog? Of Course Not! — Jesus Without Baggage | Talmidimblogging

  3. Charlotte Robertson says:

    That’s amazing. My husband and I were wondering only last night whether there was a book of these mails, so we could read them all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      Charlotte, you can also go to the archive list in the right hand column to see the posts for each month, or you can go the topic list (also in the right hand column) and choose a topic you wish to explore.

      If you are not aware, there are arrows at the top of each column so that you can always go directly to the previous, or next, post in chronological order.

      Like

  4. John Messimer says:

    Thanks for repositing earlier messages. Your valuable insights are nourishment for those recovering from fundamentalism. Peace and joy be with you and your readers.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Loren Haas says:

    Thanks Tim!
    Sometimes I really need your blog…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tonycutty says:

    Great idea. I might do something like that myself!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. William says:

    Tim, if you find the readership of your blog is growing, that must tell you that people find it important (even if they don’t applaud you in their comments). Yes, you are providing a valuable service. A couple of months ago I did a search for a place on the internet where I could express my beliefs and ask my questions, but I never really expected to find one – and there you are! Yes, I do believe a person should question their spiritual beliefs and spiritual practices. I often think how relaxing and informative it would be if I could sit down with someone and discuss some of the topics that are brought up here. I want to believe that there are a few broad-minded people who would welcome that conversation, but I don’t know how to find them. I may be wrong, but I tend to believe that most people fall in one of three groups: those that give a nod to God, but have no strong beliefs that you could call upon as the basis for discussion, those who so fervently belief every word in the bible that there is no room for discussion, and, of course, atheists. As you state, the purpose of the blog is to learn more about Jesus and how we relate to the Father – without the baggage that was added on as the Bible came together. Those kind of thoughts are what I like to examine. But let me state up front that I apologize to you and to anyone reading my words if I write anything that could be interpreted as challenging your opinions and beliefs. That is not my intent; I am merely reciting my observations. On the other hand, you or your contributors may find my ideas agreeable, thinking we are in great accord, but the “baggage” that I wish to disregard may be different than the “baggage” that troubles you. My list of baggage is long. There is a lot of information about the life of Jesus that is interesting historicity (to use a ten-dollar word), information that we should know to acknowledge he was a real person, but in terms of my own salvation, do I really have to know if the Shroud of Turin was really used for his burial, do I really have to know if he was married, do I really have to know if he could walk on water?

    Liked by 1 person

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      William, I agree that one person’s baggage is not necessarily another person’s baggage. I also recognize that those who are discarding baggage are not going to come to all the same conclusions. This is what happens when people are allowed to think for themselves.

      I am glad you found the blog where you are comfortable expressing your beliefs and questions. Feel free to do so.

      By the way, I don’t spend much time on the shroud of Turin, whether Jesus was married, or whether he walked on water. Somehow, none of these seem very important to me. There are much more important things about Jesus to learn and discuss.

      Like

    • Chas says:

      (On the matter of the Turin Shroud, it is easy to demonstrate that it is a fake. If you wrap a cloth around a face, it has to have folds in order to contact the face all over. The Turin Shroud doesn’t show such folds.)

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Chas says:

    Tim, as a relative latecomer here, I welcome your recycling of some earlier posts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

