My 5 Christmas Wishes for You

It is only about 10 more days until Christmas, and I am sure you are already deep into the Christmas spirit—doing all those busy things we do during this season leading up to the big day. Decorations are up and excitement is in the air. Perhaps you have already attended some parties for the season and met friends you haven’t seen in a while.

Joy and celebration are all around us: in the lights and decorations of our communities, towns, and cities; in the special shows on TV; in plays, musical presentations, and new movie releases; and in the background music that surrounds us everywhere we go.

We are all very busy during this important time. And as we come close to Christmas day, I want to share my five Christmas wishes for you.

Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas courtesy AllThingsChristmas.com

My Five Wishes for You

1. I wish for you to enjoy the rest of the holiday season. In the rush and pressure of your overload during these these last days before Christmas, I hope you enjoy it all. Nothing goes perfectly for anyone, so if things go badly here and there I hope you can let it go and enjoy the magic and excitement of the rest.

2. I wish for you quality time with friends and family. With all the shopping, and events, and work, I hope you are able to find quality time. You might see people you have not seen for a long time—even a year or longer, and you might have difficult relationships with some of them. I hope you are able to enjoy time with these precious people, and if tensions arise to stay above them. Treasure your time with friends and family.

3. I wish for you to draw closer to Jesus and lose more religious baggage. This season is about Jesus. I hope you are able to draw a little closer to Jesus, the good news, and the love he demonstrates. But I also hope you don’t give in to pressure to take on more legalistic burdens. Escaping legalistic baggage and accepting a life of love and freedom is far better.

4. I wish for you to find occasion to help others—even a little bit. We can give to local shelters and other charities to provide a better Christmas for the needy. Perhaps we can give directly to the homeless and other poor among us. Or maybe we can check on people we know who might be lonely and even invite them to our events.

5. I wish for you to remember and meditate on the good things of this past year and be encouraged. Each of us has experienced sadness, disappointment, pain, and perhaps grief this year. But we have all experienced good things as well—in big ways and small ways. Remembering some of these good things centers us, settles us, and helps us to grow. I can only imagine some of the good things you might have experienced.

I am Taking a Short Break from the Blog

My next post, for January 4, is already written and scheduled. If you just can’t wait that long for a post, you can take this opportunity to check out your favorite topics in the word cloud to the right of this column. Or you can go back in time with the Archives index also found in the column to the right.

I hope you have a wonderful Christmas holiday! See you again soon. ~Tim

This entry was posted in Jesus and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My 5 Christmas Wishes for You

  1. Karen says:

    Merry Christmas to you and your family. Enjoy your time of rest from the blogging world.

    Like

  2. Chas says:

    Tim, I hope that you too enjoy all these things you have wished for us and have a blessed time of rest.

    Like

  3. Jodee Roeker says:

    Tim, Merry Christmas to you & your family. One of the things I am thankful for this year is finding your Blog! It is such a source of wisdom for me. See you next year!

    Like

  4. tonycutty says:

    Bless you, bro. Have a great break!

    Like

  5. Lana says:

    I’m the opposite. I’m like yay, Christmas, time to post. haha. I hope you enjoy time with your family. Your amazing keeping up with posting!

    Like

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      I certainly understand, Lana. You have your hands full during the school season, while I am busier during Christmas season. I hope you have a good Christmas, too.

      Like

  6. Pingback: My 5 Christmas Wishes for You - Jesus is Lord

Leave a Reply

