Why fundamentalism is not the true expression of religion

Today, I read one of the most insightful and balanced articles on fundamentalism that I have read in a long time. Evangelical Liberal writes consistently good articles, and I am adding him to my blog’s favorite blogs list.

The Evangelical Liberal

Many people view fundamentalists as the real representatives of religious belief. That’s certainly what Richard Dawkins seems to think, along with some of my good New Atheist friends.

I can see the reasoning. Fundamentalists are the ones who apparently take their faith really seriously. They’re the ones with utter, dogged commitment to their beliefs, often regardless of evidence. They’re the ones who accept and follow their holy texts literally and unquestioningly, without a shadow of doubt, regardless of how abhorrent or unpalatable those texts might be in places.

Fundamentalists appear to be firm, strong, unwavering, faithful; not woolly and wishy-washy, half-assed and mealy-mouthed. You might hate what they do and stand for, but in a way you have to admire them – or so goes the argument. They’re the real deal – religion in its true colours (which of course are black and white).

And by the same token…

View original post 1,344 more words

This entry was posted in favorite blogs, fundamentalism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Why fundamentalism is not the true expression of religion

  1. michaeleeast says:

    Fundamentalism is violent, rigid and brutal. This is a false image of God.
    Liberalism, far from being weak or vague, represent s the true nature of God which is non-violent sublime, and diverse..

    Like

  2. Chas says:

    To me, religion is the ways of man, not God, so fundamentalism is all about religion and very little about God. As Michaeleeast has said, the true nature of God is gentle and loving, not violent and hateful.

    Like

  3. Chas says:

    It is possible to recognize that the comments regarding the weakness of fundamentalism are right, since it accounts for the aggression and the need to intimidate any opposition into silence. This is probably why my wife was driven away from Christianity during her teenage years and is now such an opponent. As far as I am able to discern, someone, who was of a similar age, tried to browbeat her into their viewpoint by threats of hell, and it was this shrillness and aggressiveness that drove her away, never to return. As in my comment above, violent and hateful, not gentle and loving.

    Like

  4. sheila0405 says:

    Tim, the blog post to which you linked was so very eloquent, and I reblogged it. I actually finally put an original post, written by ME, on my blog. I have to put more of my own writing on the thing, seeing as how I pay for it! 🙂 Cheers!

    Like

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      Sheila, I was so glad to read your original post; it gave me insight into Gothard teaching that I did not have before. http://sheila0405.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/an-original-post/.

      I look forward to your upcoming stories!

      Like

      • sheila0405 says:

        Thanks! I am working on another. Writing is so very hard! Did my theme make sense, or should I change it? I am afraid it’s a bit confusing.

        Like

        • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

          Yes, I thought the theme made perfect sense. The only suggestion I would have regarding the post is that the title might have been more effective as something like “Escaping the Umbrella of Authority: an original post”.

          It could be worded differently, but I suggest a title that will draw the interest of readers. However, for regular readers of your blog it was great to see that you posted your own original material.

          Your most recent post had an excellent title: “MY FUNDAMENTALIST UPBRINGING BEGINS”. Again, it was a very interesting post; I enjoy learning about your story in fundamentalism.

          Like

  5. Pingback: Another Stepping Stone | Life Outside the Goldfish Bowl

  6. Pingback: A Fresh Start | Life Outside the Goldfish Bowl

  7. Pingback: Another Stepping Stone? | Life Outside the Goldfish Bowl

Leave a Reply

