Pastor Nadia: Who is the Salt and Light?

Pastor Nadia is one of my favorite bloggers. But his week her message made a greater than usual impression on me. I recommend it highly, and I suggest you consider listening to her speak as you read along.

Pastor Nadia discusses Matthew chapter 5:

You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.

You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.  Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.  In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Pastor Nadia says:

The last verses of chapter 4 say this: Jesus fame spread throughout all Syria, and they brought to him all the sick, those who were afflicted with various diseases and pains, demoniacs, epileptics, and paralytics, and he cured them.  Great crowds followed him from a bunch of places I can’t pronounce. (which is where chapter 4 ends which is stupid because the first verse of chapter 5 says)…

When Jesus saw the crowds, (when he saw the demoniacs and epileptics and people in pain) he went up the mountain; and after he sat down, his disciples came to him. 2Then he began to speak, and taught them, saying…

You can read and hear the rest of Pastor Nadia’s touching explanation by clicking the link below:

That special class of salty, light-bearing people to whom Jesus preaches

This entry was posted in favorite blogs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pastor Nadia: Who is the Salt and Light?

  1. michaeleeast says:

    Tim,
    I always thought of ‘the salt of the earth’ as being a kind of down to earth goodness.
    As for being ‘the light od the world’ I think that the disciples – having been taught by Jesus – were the bearers of light in this world.

    Like

  2. sheila0405 says:

    I just loved this. Thanks for providing the link. I shared it with my family. Is this a midrash? It seems very wise to me.

    Like

    • Sheila, I think Pastor Nadia did a good job of contextualizing the passage, and it is wise but I don’t think it is midrash. Of course I will talk more about midrash on Monday; I look forward to your interaction with that post.

      Like

  3. lotharson says:

    I think that as long as Christians keep viewing salvation as escaping a sinful nature God cursed us with, they are not going to make any difference in the world.
    Especially if they believe that all of those dying as unbelievers will be eternally tortured.

    Their salt seems to long have turned into stones poisoning the food.

    Otherwise I wrote a post about the definition of faith, and what it might mean.
    Given the fact that you say that you believe in Jesus by faith (which of course I would agree) I’d be very glad to learn your take on the stuff I have written there.
    http://lotharlorraine.wordpress.com/2014/02/15/faith-richard-dawkins-and-peter/
    It is rather geeky at times, but I think this should interest you.

    You could perhaps also give us links there towards places in your own blog where you dealt with such kind of problems and issues.

    Cheers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

