Love is All We Need

He didn’t do it for me, but this week my good friend at Christian Evolution released a graphic that happens to illustrate, wonderfully, my current series on living the principle of loving others as ourselves–instead of following religious rules.

Already posted are:

Does Abandoning Legalism and Belief in Hell Destroy the Foundations of Morality?

What are the Practical Implications of Living Jesus’ Morality of Loving Others?

And there is more to follow.

I love Christian Evolution’s description of ‘Love’ at the bottom of the graphic! You can check out his accompanying article at Love Love Love is All We Need.

Love is All We Need

The purpose of this blog is to support those re-evaluating traditional religious beliefs.
If you find the blog helpful, consider following to avoid missing future posts.
In the column to the right, you can follow by email (most dependable), Twitter, Facebook, or RSS.
Have a great day! ~Tim
This entry was posted in behavior, legalism, love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Love is All We Need

  1. michaeleeast says:

    Tim, I think that most of CE’s list com3efrom the Bible but not all from the same place.
    I recognize the Old Testament prophets, Matthew 25, and Paul’s first letter to the Corinthians.
    Can you see any others?

    Like

    • sheila0405 says:

      I agree that these attributes come from all over the Bible. They are also seen in other religions. It’s about the human heart condition. We are all humans first, so commonality is to be expected.

      Like

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      I noticed, as well, that it was a combination of sources. I think it is a very good combination.

      Like

  2. Chas says:

    Tim, I have some concern that people might look at this list of what love is, and be daunted by it. It might make them feel guilty that they are not doing enough of these things. We serve according to our abilities and gifts, and God knows what is in our hearts, so if somebody feels strongly that they ought to do something, but don’t know what, God will bring them into situations where their abilities can be applied to help someone else.

    Like

    • sheila0405 says:

      I don’t think it is a list to follow, a la legalism. See my general comment.

      Like

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      Chas, any time there is a list there is also a danger of someone understanding it as a legalistic standard, but I think these examples from the Bible are just that–examples. If a person’s life is not characterized by these SORTS of things, then they might want to examine themselves.

      But no one can express all that this list involves.

      Like

  3. sheila0405 says:

    I see the list as an expansion of I Corinthians 13. They are attributes, not a list of things to follow, like legalism. When a person’s heart is turned toward the welfare of others, these are what you will see. I like it.

    Like

  4. gallbladder says:

    Is God the only means of showing Love ? are there other concepts that foster love ? should they not also be egually valued ?

    Like

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      Jesus teaches that God is like a loving Father, and he teaches that we should love others as we love ourselves. However, love is not found only among followers of Jesus. The Buddhist teaching of ahimsa (non-injury) is another example of treating others with love.

      Like

      • gallbladder says:

        if you are hungry i feed you that is based on your human needs I do not ask if you believe in god before i feed you If humanitarism came first it would be a better world and your beliefs need not come into the picture to show love to your fellow man that is the problem people tend to put beliefs first or a price tag to showing love I know jesus teaches love but he also gives people of his following that it can only be achieved through god and that is how religion gets in the way of love and humanity I looked up jesus quotes 90% come with an attachment that what he preaches is only achieved through god If jesus is without baggage is a message of humanity how do you separate the God part so we can all live togeher in harmony ? isn’t that what your promoting just the message do on to others ? if you wanted jesus without baggage and the fiber of the message do you need the God part ? still confused isn’t the God part still baggage ?

        Like

        • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

          GB, I agree that we need not ask about religious beliefs before helping people in need, but I disagree that Jesus teaches that love comes only if you believe in God. I don’t see how my belief in God prevents us from living in harmony, unless someone on either side chooses to fight about it.

          I do not insist that you believe in God; why do you insist that I should not?

          Like

          • gallbladder says:

            Sorry Once again I never said YOU should not believe in God You took what I said as a personal attack at you it was not ! I ask a question Quote ” If you (not you personally I meant people in general are ) wanted jesus without baggage and the fiber of the message do you ( not you personally but people in general) need the God part ?” I was talking about myself . I am sorry if you think I am against you I am trying to incorportate the fiber of Jesus words with Buddha I did not mean to offend you I am trying to ask questions to sort things out for myself I do not believe in god can I take the message without God and still get the basic concept thank you sorry for the misunderstanding

            Like

          • gallbladder says:

            Since I do not believe in God I have an interest in what is the “God experience ” in other words if I were 5 years old and was never exposed to religion or heard of jesus or God what would you tell me that believing in God would do to change my life . basically the purpose ? This is not questioning your beliefs or an attack on you What can belief bring to a persons life ? is it an emotion , a sense of wellbeing , ,an answer to questions ? A sense of belonging ? What am I missing ? Can you describe it ? or is it something you have in you or not ? are you born with it or can you learn it ? Ususlly when you believe something its for a reason ? a purpose ? once again this is a question for understanding not an attack on yours or someone’s beliefs but a clarification for myself if you are able to give me some insight ? can you describe or define the “God experience” this is not a judgement question or an attack a basic Question of What am I missing by not believing in God ?

            Like

          • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

            Hi GB,

            Thanks for the clarification. I think it is great for Buddhists, or other folks, to appreciate both the teachings of Jesus and Buddha. However, I think that part of Jesus’ message to us was about the Father (God), but you need not accept everything Jesus taught in order to benefit from the rest. I do not accept some of the things the Buddha taught, but I certainly benefit from some of his insights.

            I do not see the followers of Jesus and the Buddha to be in competition, though I think Jesus has a message for the entire world that includes the love of the Father and our future state of happiness after death.

            Like

          • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

            GB, you said, “Since I do not believe in God I have an interest in what is the ‘God experience’…Usually when you believe something its for a reason.”

            I can only speak for myself and not for all believers. Many people in Jesus’ time thought God was angry, violent, and vindictive. Many people today think the same think, and so did I for quite awhile.

            But when I began to understand Jesus’ message better, I realized this is not true; instead the Father is loving and caring for each of us. As to why I believe in the Father, the only ‘reason’ is that Jesus tells us about him/her. It is not innate, nor is it a continuation of what I was taught as a child, because I now believe that most of what I was taught was mistaken.

            I would not say I have a ‘God experience’, though I can say quite surely that I have a ‘Jesus experience’. My devotion is not about God; it is about Jesus.

            Like

          • gallbladder says:

            thank you for your insight and response

            Like

  5. gallbladder says:

    Tim My hope is you may consider my( personal ) Email about Wikinut web site aworld wide means of publishing your “slimmed down / without baggage ” vision of jesus ( better PR) would be of interest to many , I have encouraged some of my friends to read your blog many are hesitant because of the “God” connection I will convey your last comment in hopes they will be open minded . I hope you will look in to Wikinut to get your message out thanks for your patience with me hope you have a good week and keep writing Peace

    Like

    • jesuswithoutbaggage says:

      Hi GB, you can share with your friends that I applaud their interest in Jesus. Jesus is not just for Christians. If there are some things associated with Jesus, such as God, with which they are uncomfortable, they can just ignore it because the important thing about Jesus is his teachings and the examples of his actions.

      I could not locate your email about Wikinut, but I did go there and look around. I was not previously aware of this site; what is it about Wikinut that causes you to recommend it?

      Like

      • gallbladder says:

        you can reach many more people with your message world wide plus you get your articles published and get paid I have visited many other England base sites with a large gay community who are having difficulty being accepted by the church and you may be a sorce they may want to get a feeling of acceptance and support from i get the impression that their country churches tend to be more discriminating than ours this was my thought Just a thought peace

        Like

Comments are closed.